Posture for a Healthy Back: What is Good Posture

Healthy standing postureWhat is good posture? 
Posture is the  position in which you hold your body upright against gravity while standing, sitting or laying down. Good posture involves training the body to stand, walk, sit and lie in positions where the least strain is placed on supporting muscles and ligaments.

Proper posture:
1. Keeps bones and joints in the correct alignment so that muscles are being used properly.
2. Helps decrease the abnormal wearing of joint surfaces.
3. Decreases the stress on the ligaments holding the joints of the spine together.
4. Prevents the spine from becoming fixed in abnormal positions.
5. Prevents fatigue because muscles are being used more efficiently, allowing the body to use less energy.
6. Prevents backache and muscular pain.
7. Contributes to a good appearance.

Proper posture requirements:
1. Good muscle flexibility.
2. Normal motion in the joints.
3. Strong postural muscles.
4. A balance of muscles on both sides of the spine.
5. Awareness of your own posture, plus awareness of proper posture which leads to conscious correction.

With much practice, the correct posture for standing, sitting, and lying down (as described below) will gradually replace your old posture.

What is the correct way to stand?
1. Hold your head up straight with your chin in. Do not tilt your head forward, backward or sideways.
2. Make sure your earlobes are in line with the middle of your shoulders.
3. Stretch the top of your head toward the ceiling.
4. Keep your shoulders back, your knees straight and your back straight.
5. Tuck your stomach in. Do not tilt your pelvis forward.
6. The arches in your feet should be supported.

The Good and Healthy postures training are one of important factors in our offeredSuccessful Balanced and Healthy lifestyle program“.

Read related articles in our Category: Healthy postures

Material from (2 Apr 2011): www.spineuniverse.com

About BVG Janaka dasa das

The counsellor, trainer and lecturer of Balanced and Healthy lifestyle, body, art, music, trance etc philosophy, psychology and psychotherapy. The leader of personal development and team building groups and private practice of psychotherapy.
This entry was posted in Healthy postures, Holistic health, Our Balanced and Healthy lifestyle tips and recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Posture for a Healthy Back: What is Good Posture

  1. roseni says:

    its related with my research…good information to share with..

  2. Alina says:

    I am 18 and I have the hollow back (but not so severe like in the picture) and I was wondering , if I do the correct exercises and I change my posture , can I still get the correct posture? Am I to old now?
    sorry for my english.

  3. zippedmouth says:

    I like your post, can I repost it in my blog 🙂

  4. Rojae Braga says:

    This is really an interesting post! I actually had a problem with this. Oftentimes I experience neck pains. My friends told me that it’s because of my posture. I also thought likewise since I really have no other medical condition that might cause this. As much as I wanted to change my posture, but I just can’t. These tips sure do help, but I hope you could also post something related to this – the health consequences of improper body posture. Thanks!

    • “… I hope you could also post something related to this – the health consequences of improper body posture. Thanks!”

      Thank You for Your website visit and kind encouragements. I was put Your friendly request in task list. By the way, my be we can find some answers right now in following article “Means and Laws of Relationships Development and degradation” In table “8 levels of degradation and development are described” in five colon “Stages of disease manifestation” we can read who our heath improve or develop according to whole situation. Please see it by Your self 🙂

Please kindly share with us Your Feelings, Thoughts, Feedback...

